Asian F3 LIVE from Dubai

Dubai, UAE (January 27, 2021) – The F3 Asian Championship Certified by FIA has announced a 23-car entry for its opening round at the Dubai Autodrome this weekend, with 17 nationalities spanning four continents gearing up for the start of the five round, 15-race 2021 season on January 29-30. Among the entries are some of the sport’s most promising up-and-coming talents, while their more experienced rivals will provide a credible and useful international benchmark.

Reigning team champions BlackArts Racing, who won the 2020 championship with Dutchman Joey Alders, defend their title with a four-car entry comprised of 16-year-olds Lorenzo Fluxa of Spain – 2020 F4 UAE series runner-up – and Venezuelan-born Czech Zdenek Chovanec, and Mexican Rafael Villagomez and Turkish driver Cem Bolukbasi. The Zhuhai-based outfit has also bolstered its management team, enlisting former F1 driver Alex Yoong and F1 and IndyCar engineer Greg Wheeler in the roles of Team Manager and Technical Director respectively.

Two-time F3 Asian team champions Hitech Grand Prix return for a fourth season, their four-car entry combining both experience and fledgling talent. With two seasons in the FIA F2 Championship, Israel’s Roy Nissany is one of the most experienced drivers in the field this year, while Red Bull Junior Team driver and reigning F4 French champion Ayumu Iwasa is without doubt one to watch. Joining them are Reece Ushijima of Japan and Czech driver Roman Stanek.

Also with a four-driver entry are Pinnacle Motorsport, second in the team and driver classification last season with Red Bull Junior Team driver Jack Doohan. Returning to the series with Pinnacle having made his debut last season with Hitech Grand Prix is Italian Alessio Deledda, the 26-year-old recently confirmed for the 2021 FIA F2 Championship with HWA Racelab. Pinnacle’s championship newcomers are Frenchmen Pierre-Louis Chovet and Alexandre Bardinon, both 18 years of age, who are joined by Matthias Luethen of Germany.

Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema marks the championship debut of Prema Powerteam, one of the most successful outfits in all junior formulae below F1. Amna Al Qubaisi continues to develop her pioneering motorsport career with Prema, having made her racing debut in the 2018 Italian F4 Championship and a front runner in this year’s F4 UAE series. Joining the 20-year-old Emirati on the team are 21-year-old Guanyu Zhou of China who, having finished sixth in the 2020 FIA F2 Championship is one of his country’s brightest hopes for an F1 future, and Ferrari Driver Academy 17-year-old Dino Beganovic of Sweden.

Another new team for the 2021 season but no stranger to Asian junior single seater racing is the Mumbai Falcons. Like his Indian F3 champion father Akbar, Team Principal Armaan Ebrahim had a successful formula career, contesting three seasons of the FIA F2 championship. On the team for their F3 Asian Championship campaign are FIA F2 Championship and Red Bull Junior Team driver Jehan Daruvala, and 2020 BRDC British F3 runner-up Kush Maini.

3Y Evans GP and 3Y Evans GP Team Oloi enter two cars apiece for their first foray in the series. Sixteen-year-old Frenchman Isack Hadjar is joined by Finn Patrik Pasma at 3Y Evans GP, while Briton Casper Stevenson, third in the British F4 series last season, joins Russia’s Irina Sidorkova at 3Y Evans GP Team Oloi. Prior to the cancellation of its 2020 season due to the Covid-19 pandemic, 17-year-old Sidorkova had been selected for the prestigious all-female W Series.

Motoscape joins the championship with 17-year-olds Brazilian Roberto Faria and Italian Nicola Marinangeli.

Round 1 of the 2021 F3 Asian Championship Certified by FIA gets underway with two qualifying sessions and the opening race of the season on Friday, January 29th. Races 2 and 3 follow on Saturday at the Dubai Autodrome.

F3 Asian Championship Certified by FIA
Provisional Entry List Round 1

3 Pierre-Louis CHOVET FRA Pinnacle Motorsport
4 Patrik PASMA FIN 3Y Evans GP
5 Casper STEVENSON GBR 3Y Evans GP Team Oloi
6 Isack HADJAR FRA 3Y Evans GP
7 Roberto FARIA BRA Motoscape
8 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ MEX BlackArts Racing
10 Alessio DELEDDA ITA Pinnacle Motorsport
11 Roman STANEK CZE Hitech Grand Prix
12 Ayumu IWASA JPN Hitech Grand Prix
13 Reece USHIJIMA JPN Hitech Grand Prix
14 Roy NISSANY ISR Hitech Grand Prix
16 Dino BEGANOVIC SWE Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema
19 Jehan DARUVALA IND Mumbai Falcons
25 Alexandre BARDINON FRA Pinnacle Motorsport
28 Kush MAINI IND Mumbai Falcons
33 Guanyu ZHOU CHN Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema
40 Matthias LUETHEN GER Pinnacle Motorsport
51 Irina SIDORKOVA RUS 3Y Evans GP Team Oloi
62 Lorenzo FLUXA ESP BlackArts Racing
66 Zdenek CHOVANEC POR BlackArts Racing
74 Cem BOLUKBASI TUR BlackArts Racing
77 Nicola MARINANGELI ITA Motoscape
88 Amna AL QUBAISI UAE Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema


Date Venue Event
January 27 Dubai Autodrome Pre-Season Test
January 29-30 Dubai Autodrome, UAE Round 1 (Races 1-3)
February 4-5 Yas Marina Circuit, UAE Round 2 (Races 4-6)
February 6-7 Yas Marina Circuit, UAE Round 3 (Races 7-9)
February 12-14 Dubai Autodrome, UAE Round 4 (Races 10-12)
February 19-20 Yas Marina Circuit, UAE Round 5 (Races 13-15)

Source: F3 Asian Championship Certified by FIA