Brown & Salmon Take Out Winton 300Kms

Australian Formula 4 driver Will Brown has had an exciting introduction into the Australian Production Car Series, taking the first 300km race win alongside Rod Salmon.

An impressive and consistent drive from the pair saw their Evo 10 grab the lead very late in the race, after a puncture disrupted the Focus RS of Chaz Mostert and Nathan Morcom who had led majority of the 100-lap race.

Despite the technicalities with their Ford, Mostert and Morcom drove to a solid second finish, ahead of Bob Pearson and Rick Bates.

Bates started the race on an impressive pole position, after claiming the fastest time in the qualifying session earlier in the day.

Scott Gore and Keith Bensley finished fourth outright, and took the win in Class B1.

Class C winners Ric Shaw and Andrew Bollom were fifth outright, ahead of D class victors James Keene and Dominic Martens.

Invitational was taken out by Gerry and Leigh Burges, while Jason Walsh and Paul Currie claimed Class E.

Quickest in all of yesterday’s practice sessions, Iain and Grant Sherrin, had a day they would rather forget, with an engine failure late in the race. The duo plan to have their car back on track for tomorrow.

The Australian Production Car Series returns tomorrow for their final 300km race for the round.

Jake Fouracre delivered one of the fastest GT lap times around Winton, topping the sheets in today’s Australian GT Trophy Series qualifying.

Fouracre, driving with Rio Nugara this weekend, set the fastest lap in Qualifying 1 with a 1:18.9666, handing the Audi R8 pole for tomorrow’s first 50-minute race.

Steve McLaughlan was 1.5s behind his Audi Sport Customer Racing teammate, and will share the front row for Race 1.

Victorian Matthew Stoupas crossed the line with the third fastest time today, with Rod Salmon set to start alongside him in fourth.

Richard Gartner was the first non-Audi entry with fifth in his Lamborghini, with reigning Trophy class winner Rob Smith rounding the top six.

The Australian GT Trophy Series will begin their races tomorrow, with Race 1 to begin at 9:30 (AEST).
Jordan Love has taken the first win in the Jim Richards Endurance Trophy, while extending his outright and Professional class lead in Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge.

Despite falling back at the start, Love climbed his way back through the field to take a convincing win from fellow West Australian Peter Major in the 35-lap race.

Major also made his racing debut in the series today, impressing with second place in the race. Brenton Grove was third for the opening race, keeping the gap close to the series leader.

After taking pole position in the morning, Anthony Gilbertson crossed the line in fourth position, while coming home first in the Elite class.

South Australians John Karytinos and Sam Shahin battled hard for fifth and sixth respectively, while John Morriss eventually got passed John Steffensen after applying strong pressure to the Zagame Autosport Porsche all-race long.

The Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge returns tomorrow for a further two races, the first beginning at 9:00 (AEST).
Jason Makris had a day of firsts, claiming both his first pole position and race win in the Australian Prototype Series. Makris, off the front row, had a great start, leading the race from start to finish.

F1000 racer Terry Peovitis although gave Makris a run for his money, keeping Makris under pressure throughout the race.

Despite crossing the line second, Peovitis was penalised 10 seconds for jumping the start, and finished fourth for the opening race of the round.

This elevated Jam Motorsport’s Aaron Steer to second place in the race, with John-Paul Drake rounding out the top three.

After winning the first round of the series, Radical racer Philip Hughes was fifth, ahead of Gerrit Ruff and debutant Philip Tan rounding out the top seven.

Source: Shannons Nationals Media

Image © Nathan Wong