ELMS Is Back. Watch Qualifying Live From Barcelona

The European Le Mans Series is back after it’s long mid-season break and here’s some facts and figures about the series history at Barcelona.

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya first hosted a round of the European Le Mans Series in 2019.  Due to Covid-19 restrictions the race was not held in 2020 and returned as the season opener in 2021.  This season will mark the third edition of the 4 Hours of Barcelona.

  1. The first race in 2019 was round 3 of the six-race season.The first edition of the 4 Hours of Barcelona was won by the no26 G-Drive Racing of Job Van Uitert, Jean-Eric Vergne and Roman Rusinov.
  2. The LMP3 winners in 2019 were Martin Hippe and Nigel Moore in the no13 Inter Europol Competition Ligier-Nissan
  3. The LMGTE Winners in 2019 were Alessandro Pier Guidi, Nicklas Nielsen and Fabien Lavergne in the no51 Luzich Racing Ferrari 488 GTE EVO.
  4. In 2019 the pole positions were secured by –

o LMP2: Paul Loup Chatin – no28 IDEC Sport – 1m32.765

o LMP3: Mikkel Jensen – no11 Eurointernational – 1m40.371

o LMGTE: Andrea Piccini – no60 Kessel Racing – 1m43.084

  1. The second edition of the 4 Hours of Barcelona was held on 18 April 2021 and was won by the no41 Orlen Team WRT Oreca-Gibson of Louis Deletraz, Robert Kubica and Yifei Ye on the teams ELMS debut.
  2. The LMP3 class was won by the no19 Cool Racing Ligier of Nicolas Maulini, Matt Bell and Niklas Kruetten.
  3. The LMGTE class was won by the no80 Iron Lynx Ferrari of Matteo Cressoni, Rino Mastronardi and Spain’s Miguel Molina.
  4. In 2021 the pole positions were secured by –

o LMP2: Nyck de Vries – no26 G-Drive Racing – 1m31.788

o LMP3: Duncan Tappy – no3 United Autosports – 1m39.162

o LMGTE: Gianmaria Bruni – no77 Proton Competition – 1m41.892

  1. There are 9 previous winners of the 4 Hours of Barcelona taking part in the 2022 edition of the race –

o Job Van Uitert (no65 Panis Racing) – 2019 LMP2

o Nicklas Nielsen (no88 AF Corse) – 2019 LMGTE

o Louis Deletraz (no9 Prema Racing) – 2021 LMP2

o Yifei Ye (no37 Cool Racing) – 2021 LMP2

o Matt Bell (no24 Nielsen Racing) – 2021 LMP3

o Niklas Kruetten (no37 Cool Racing) – 2021 LMP3

o Nicolas Maulini (no27 Cool Racing) – 2021 LMP3

o Matteo Cressoni (no60 Iron Lynx) – 2021 LMGTE

o Miguel Molina (no66 JMW Motorsport) – 2021 LMGTE

  1. The current lap records were all set on 18 April 2021

o LMP2 – Roman RUSINOV – 1m35.797 – 175.7kph

o LMP3 – Laurents HÖRR – 1m41.441 – 165.9kph

o LMGTE – Gianmaria BRUNI – 1m44.700 – 160.7kph

  1. The fastest ELMS lap recorded at Barcelona was set on 17 April 2021

o Nyck DE VRIES – 1m31.788 – 183.4kph – LMP2 Qualifying

The 4 Hours of Barcelona is Round 4 of the 2022 European Le Mans Series and it will be held on Sunday 28 August.